Halal info

INTRODUCTION

We hope that this information will be of great use to you and that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company. They have been very helpful in providing the requested information.

CONSULTATION OF COMPANIES

Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.

L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:
No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL

Burger King Corporation:
Shortening used in from swine = HARAM

Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM

Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM

Because you are not sure.

Shakes = HALAL

General Goods:
Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM

Knox Gelatin Inc.:
Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM

American Lecithin Company:
Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL

Nestle:
A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL

General Mills Inc.:
Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM

(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don’t know so it is better to avoid)

Quaker Oats:
Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.

SEVERAL TERMS

A. Derived from pork or other animal
Bacon
Ham
Sausage
Lard
Fat
Gelatin
Shortening (animal).

B. Avoid – doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable):
Lecithin
Emulsifier
Dough conditioners
Mono and diglycerides
Enzymes or rennet in cheese

C. You can use: HALAL
Soya-lecithin
Soybean lecithin
Vegetable lecithin
Vegetable shortening
Vegetable mono and diglyceriders
Vegetable enzymes or rennetless cheese.
Fish.

D. Avoid may contain alcohol
Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings

E. When you see these letters:
“U” or “K” they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.

AVOID THE FOLLOWING AS THEY MAY CONTAIN ALCOHOL:

Artificial and Imitation extracts and Flavorings.

MISCELLANEOUS FOOD ITEMS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Kellog Co.
Frosted Pop Tarts
Type-B Gelatin
(Vegetable/Beef)
Investigating

Unfrosted Pop Tarts
No Gelatin
HALAL

Frank Foods
QT Frosting mix
Vegetable fat (Shortening)
HALAL

General Mills Inc.
Ready-to-Spread
Frosting
Vegetable fat/or Lard
HARAM

Proctor & Gamble
Duncan Hines
Cake Mix &
Pringles
Vegetable fat
HALAL

Great Atlantic & Pacific Co.
A&P Creamer
Coconut & Palm Oil
HALAL

Topco Assoc. Inc.
Food Club Non Dairy Creamer
Vegetable fat
HALAL

Dietary Creamer
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

Penn Maid Food Inc.
Natural Yogurt
No Gelatin
HALAL

Swiss Yogurt
Gelatin from Calf skin
HARAM

Jolly Rancher
Candies
Palm & Coconut Oil
HALAL

M & M Co.
Starburst fruit Chews
Gelatin from Lard
HARAM

American Home Foods
Crunch ‘N’ Munch
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

DISINFECTANT

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Lehn & Fink Products
Lyson Brand
All products
Synthetic chemicals
HALAL

BREAD AND PASTRY

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Drake Bakeries (Div. Of Borden foods Inc.)
Honey bun
Lard
HARAM

Entenmanns
All Products
Vegetable Shortening
HALAL

Giants Goods
Bread
Vegetable Shortening
HALAL

Huber Baking Co. (Bakers Of sunshine Bread)
Roman Meal Bread
Soybean Salad oil
HALAL

Keebler
All products
Vegetable Shortening
Oleo and Lard
HARAM

Nabisco
All Products
Lard
HARAM

Pepperidge farm
Rolls, Bread, Butter or Cakes*
Vegetable shortening
HALAL

* NOTE:
Layer cakes even though this cake is made with good shortening the GELATIN USED is made from PIGSKIN
HARAM

Pillsbury Co.
1896/69 Brand Butter, Milk Biscuit
Vegetable shortening
HALAL

Stroehmann Brothers Co
Hillbilly Bread
White Bread
Lard
HARAM

Sunshine Biscuit Co.
All products
Vegetable shortening
HALAL

ICE CREAM

Manufacturer
Product
Use

Baskin Robbins
Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice HALAL

NOTE: Ice cream and those flavors Containing might marshmallow
HARAM

Pensupreme
Ice Cream
HARAM

Pensupreme schraff
Ice cream (available at safeway)
HALAL

Meadow Gold
Ice cream
HALAL

Meadow Gold Louis sherry
Ice cream (all natural)
HALAL

Abbotts
Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice
HALAL

Pantry Pride
Ice cream
HALAL

Breyers
Ice cream
HALAL

CHEWING GUM

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Dynamint Co.
Dynamints
Candelilla Wax
HALAL

Wrigley’s Co.
Chewing gum
100% mineral or Vegetable base
HALAL

Warner Lambert Co.
Chewing Gum
Chicklets Dentyne Trident
Freshen Up
Vegetable base
HALAL

Beach Nut
Chewing Gum
Glcerl Monosterate Or Ester of Gum from any animal fat
HARAM

FROZEN PIZZA PIES

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Jan’s
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Buitoni
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Little Chef
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Ellio’s
Cheddar Cheese
Swine pepsin
HARAM

Quaker Celeste
Mozzarella Cheese
Swine pepsin
HARAM

PIZZA RESTAURANTS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Pizza Hut
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

NOTE: Making of pizza is not according to SHARIAH.
Example: They are using same pot or tray and knife that they use in pork.

CHEESE

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Purity Company
Muenster Cheese
Caraway Muenster Cheese
Monterey jack
Muenster Cheese(with hot pepper)
Farmers Cheese
Burie (Imported) Cheese
Camembert Cheese
Romano Cheese
Parmesan Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Clearfield
Natural Cheese Kosher Brand.
Calf Rennet
HARAM

Kraft
Philadelpia Cream Cheese
Whipped Cream Cheese
Neufchatel
Lactic acid
HALAL

McCadm Co.
New York State
Calf & swine Rennet
HARAM

Framageries Bal. Inc.
Cheese
Calf Rennet
HARAM

World Cheese Col.
Migdal American
Haolam
Vegetable
HALAL

Schanling Col.
Schnall American
(Individually wrapped)
Schnall Muenster sliced
Schnall Mozzarella
Vegetable
HALAL

Clay Butter Co.
Millers Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

NOTE: Calf (plural = calves): a young cow or bull.

COSMETICS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Avon
All Products
Petrochemicals
HALAL

Wella Corp.
Balsam products
Petrochemicals
HALAL

Johnson Product Inc.
Ultra Sheen
Lanolin
HALAL

Lustrasilk Corp.
Scalp Cream
Lanolin
HALAL

Westwood Pharmaceutical
Keri Lotion
Synthetic chemical
HALAL

Chesbrough Ponds Inc.
Vaseline Intensive Lotion
Lard
HARAM

SOAP

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Proctor & Gamble Co.
Kirk’s Coso Hardwater Castile
Lava
Coconut oil
Vegetable fat
HALAL

Ivory
Camay
Safe Guard
Coast
Zest
Beef & Pork Tallow
HARAM

Lever Brothers Co.
Lux
Lifebuoy
Phase II
Dove
Caress
Beef Tallow*
HARAM

Colgate Palmolive Co.
Palmolive
Cashmere
Beef & Pork Tallow*
HARAM

Andrew Jergen Co.
Jergens
Woodbury
Beef Tallow*
HARAM

Armour Dial inc.
Dial
Tone
Irish spring
Beef Tallow*

Pork Tallow*
HARAM

Amway Corporation
All Bar Soaps
Pork Tallow*
HARAM

Nivia Creams
Sheep’s Skin/Fat*

* NOTE: The Sheep/Beef that is obtained for the products is not slaughtered Islamically, hence, it is still doubtful.

TOOTHPASTE

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Lever Brothers Co.
Pepsodents
Close up
Aim
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

Colgate Palmolive Co.
Ultra Brite
Colgate Paste
Colgate Powder
Lard
HARAM

Vicks Chemical Co.
Fix -A- Dent
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

Procter and Gamble
Gleen
Lard
HARAM

NOTE: Contains alcohol; still in doubt about its use.

POT CLEANERS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

GM Co.
Rescue 11Soap pads

HALAL

Purex Corporation Brillo
Supreme Steel Wool balls

HALAL

Soap pads
Kosher Soap (Packaged 2 each Pink& Green Bars per carton)
Double Pads
Lard
Beef Tallow
HARAM

Miles laboratory
S.O.S Soap Pads
Tuffy Plastic Mesh
Moth/Balls
Lard
HARAM

MEDICATION

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Seldane Caps.
Pepsin
HARAM

Seldane Syrup

HALAL

——————————————————————————–

LIST OF HALAL AND HARAM FOOD INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENT
TYPE

Acetic Acid
HALAL

Alcohol
HARAM

Ammonium chloride
HALAL

Ammonium Sulphate
HALAL

Animal Fat
HARAM

Animal shortening
Investigate

Ascorbic Acid
HALAL

Aspartame
HALAL

Bacon (Pork)
HARAM

Benzoate/Benzoic Acid
HALAL

BHA
HALAL

BHT
HALAL

Calcium Carbonate
HALAL

Calcium Sulphate
HALAL

Carrageenan
HALAL

Cocoa Butter
HALAL

Collegen (pork)
HARAM

Corn Meal/Corn Starch
HALAL

Corn Syrup
HALAL

Dextrin/Dextrose
HALAL

Dicalcium phosphate
HALAL

Diglyceride (Animal)
HARAM

Diglyceride (Plant)
HALAL

Dough Conditioners
HARAM

EDTA
HALAL

Emulsifier
HARAM

Enzyme (Animal)
HARAM

Enzyme (Plant)
HALAL

Ergocalciferol
HALAL

Ergosterol
HALAL

Fat (Pork or Animal)
HARAM

Fatty Acid (Animal)
HARAM

Fatty Acid (Plant)
HALAL

Ferrous Sulphate
HALAL

Fructose
HALAL

Fungal Protease Enzyme
HALAL

Gelatin
HARAM

Glucose
HALAL

Glyceride (Animal)
HARAM

Glyceride (Plant)
HALAL

Glycerol/Glycerine (Animal)
HARAM

Glycerol /Glycerine (Plant)
HALAL

Gum Acacia
HALAL

Ham
HARAM

Harmones (Animal)
HARAM

Harmones (Plant)
HALAL

Hydrogenated Oil
HALAL

Hydrolyzed Animal protein
HARAM

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
HALAL

Lard
HARAM

Leavenings
HALAL

Lecithin (commercial)
HALAL

Malt
HALAL

Malto Dextrin
HALAL

Hydrogenated oil
HALAL

Molasses
HALAL

Monocalcium Phosphate
HALAL

Mono Saccharides
HALAL

Monoglycerides (Animal)
HARAM

Monoglycerides (Plant)
HALAL

MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)
HALAL

Nitrates/Nitrites
HALAL

Nonfat Dry Milk
HALAL

Oxalic Acid
HALAL

PABA
HALAL

Partially Hydrogenated oil
HALAL

Pectic Materials
HALAL

Pectin
HALAL

Pepsin (Animal)
HARAM

Phospholipid (Animal)
HARAM

Phospholipid (Plant)
HALAL

Phosphoric Acid
HALAL

Pork & All by Products
HARAM

Potassium Benzoate
HALAL

Potassium Citrate
HALAL

Propionate
HALAL

Propionic Acid
HALAL

Renin Rennet
Investigate

Saccharine
HALAL

Salt
HALAL

Sausage
HARAM

Shortening (Animal)
HARAM

Shortening (Plant)
HALAL

Soy protein
HALAL

Soybean Oil
HALAL

Sucrose
HALAL

Tapioca
HALAL

Tricalcium Phosphate
HALAL

Vinegar
HALAL

Whey
Investigate

Yeast
HALAL

NOTE:

Please check the ingredients of every food brand, which you use. Also check any or all-new products you use before making your purchase. If you have any doubts, you may write or phone to the manufacturer, so far they have been very helpful to us and it will put your mind at ease.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s